Toronto Public Libraries.

Landmarks of Canada. What art has done for Canadian history; a guide to the J. Ross Robertson historical collection in the Public reference library, Toronto, Canada. This catalogue of the online

. (page 51 of 89)
Online LibraryToronto Public LibrariesLandmarks of Canada. What art has done for Canadian history; a guide to the J. Ross Robertson historical collection in the Public reference library, Toronto, Canada. This catalogue of the → online text (page 51 of 89)
Font size
QR-code for this ebook


death, and which tells the story of his last deeds and thoughts, is still
sung by Canadian voyageurs. Water color from original drawing by Schell
and Hogan, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7.



303

1899 — BOWMAN VI LLE, ONT., 1880— From Vanstone's Hill, west of
town — Bowmanville, called after Charles Bowman, a Scot from Arbroath,
was at one time known as Darlington Mills; grist and saw mills were built
there by John Burke. About 1820 the first store was opened in Darlington,
although some years previously a post-offce had been established, the mail
arriving once a week. The present town lies to the north and south of
King street, the business quarter, the principal residential portion being
situated to the north of that street. 1. St. Paul's Presbyterian Church.
2. Old fire hall, replaced by present municipal buildings. 3. Methodist
Church. 4. Kingston road, of which King street is a continuation. 5. Block
of stores. 6. St. John's Church (Anglican). 7. Vanstone's Mill. 8. Road-
way deviating from and rejoining Kingston road. 9. Hill sloping to ravine,
through which Barber's Creek runs. 10. Scugog road to Caesarea. Water
color from original drawing by W. C. Fitler, for "Picturesque Canada."
Size 5x7.

1900— GLIMPSES OF THE LOWER OTTAWA, 1880— The lumber
trade — With key marking points of interest: 1. Tow boats on the Ottawa,
opposite Rockliffe Park. 2. Timber raft in foreground, with a landing near
Battson and Currier's mill, opposite Ottawa. 3. Nepean Point and Rock-
liffe Park, on right — Currier mill and Gilmour's mill, on left, and the church
and village of Gatineau in the distance. Water color from original drawing
by Schell and Hogan, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 6x8.

1901— PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS FROM MAJOR'S HILL, OTTAWA,
1880 — Facing the river may be seen the Library of Parliament, a beautiful
polygonal structure, its dome supported by graceful flying buttresses. The
interior, with its bookcases and panelling of Canadian pine, contains some
very fine carving and houses 250,000 volumes, including many on Canadiana.
When the Houses of Parliament were swept by fire in February, 1916, the
Library Building was preserved intact, although many rare volumes were
destroyed by water and a passage burned from the reading-room to the
walls. Major's Hill Park, to the east of Parliament Hill, commands an
excellent view of the river. On Nepean Point, at the end of the park, is
the saluting battery, with guns of 1797. Water color from original drawing
by F. B. Schell, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7.

1902— POST-OFFICE AND SAPPER'S BRIDGE, OTTAWA, 1880— In
the centre of the picture is shown the post-office, on Wellington and Sparks
streets. It was begun in December, 1872, and occupied, July, 1876. To the
left is Sapper's Bridge (erected 1832, and rebuilt, along with Dufferin
Bridge, 1873-4), connecting Sparks and Rideau street, and to right of picture
is Dufferin Bridge, connecting Wellington and Rideau streets, with the
Eastern Block in the distance. In 1912 the bridges were demolished to
make way for a wide plaza, with the post-office as base. To the extreme
left is the Russell House, commenced 1863, enlarged 1874, and again in 1880.
It is still (1917) one of the prominent hostelries of Ottawa. Water color
from original drawing by W. C. Fitler, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7.

1903— CH AUDI ERE FALLS, 1880— Near Ottawa, Ont.— So named from
early times, for Champlain three hundred years ago wrote that these falls
were called by the Indians "Asticou," which means "cauldron" (Chaudiere).
The tumultuous waters dash over ragged, rocky ledges, sixty feet high and
two hundred feet wide. Nearby are the timber slides, by which timber
from the Upper Ottawa descends to navigable waters below. Water color
from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x6.

1904— SUSPENSION BRIDGE AT CHAUDIERE FALLS, 1880— It was
the third bridge built at this point to connect Ottawa with Hull;
erected in 1843 to succeed the bridge of 1829, destroyed by fire in 1900 and
replaced the following year by the present steel structure Water color from
original drawing by F. B. Schell, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 3x7.

22



304

1905— WESTERN BLOCK, DEPARTMENTAL BUILDINGS, OTTAWA
— These buildings at present (1917) house the Public Works, Railways,
Trade and Commerce and Inland Revenue Departments. Built in 1859;
enlarged during the time of Alexander Mackenzie and surmounted by
the Mackenzie tower, the highest pinnacle of any structure in Ottawa.
This view is taken looking west, the block facing Parliament Square on
one side and Wellington street on the left or south side. The contractors
for the original structure were Messrs. Edward Haycock and Thomas C.
Clarke. Water color from original drawing by C. E. H. Bonwill, for
"Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1906— HOUSES OF PARLIAMENT, OTTAWA— From main entrance
under Central Tower — The stately entrance to the buildings is here de-
picted. Looking south-east are shown the Eastern Block, and across
Wellington street, on the left, the Bodega Hotel, with the Russell House
and the tower of the City Hall further down. On the right is the .old office
of the Ottawa Free Press, now part of the Langevin Block site, and, in the
rear the tower of the Grand Union Hotel. Water color from original draw-
ing by C. E. H. Bonwill, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1907— MAIN BUILDING, HOUSES OF PARLIAMENT, OTTAWA, 1880
—In 1860 the Prince of Wales (King Edward VII.) laid the foundation
stone of the Main Building, which, although still unfinished, was occupied
in 1865. From the Victoria tower, which rose to a height of 220 feet over
the entrance, a magnificent view of the Ottawa River and Chaudiere Falls
was obtainable. To the left of the main entrance was the House of
Commons — the "Green Chamber" — and to the right, the Senate— the "Red
Chamber." Built in 12th century Gothic style, of cream-colored sandstone,
with dressings of red sandstone and Ohio freestone, the Houses of Parlia-
ment, which covered an area of four acres, presented an imposing appear-
ance, crowning as they did a bluff commanding the Ottawa River. Water
color from original drawing by Schell and Hogan, for "Picturesque Canada."
Size 5x7.

1908— "BREAKING A JAM"— On the Upper Reaches of the Ottawa—
Although the square timber cribs are no longer on the Ottawa, the picture
shows what is still a daily scene during the spring drive. The comparative
ease with which these experienced lumber jacks or river drivers maintain
their equilibrium, even in swift and treacherous currents and rapids, is
one of the marvels of the industry. Water color from original by M. J.
Burns, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1909 — HABITANT OVEN— Method of bread-making in Province of
Quebec. Water color from original drawing, for "Picturesque Canada,"
1880. Size 5x6. See 79.

1910 — T A DO US AC — Below the confluence of the St. Lawrence and
Saguenay — It is a quaint old village, the oldest continuously occupied
European settlement in Canada, receiving its name from the round hills
or "mamelons" surrounding it. In 1535 Jacques Cartier visited the place,
and in 1599 a trading post was established. Tadousac has a history. It
was a market of the French fur-traders, occupied by Sir David Kirke in
1628, attacked by the Iroquois, and an early missionary centre. In 1615
the Recollets established a mission here. They were followed by the
Jesuits, the last of whom was Father La Brosse. A point of interest in
the village to-day is the quaint "Chapel of the Jesuit Mission," built 1747-50,
on the site of the bark-covered hut which served as a mission chapel until
the first church was built in 1648. Tadousac is now (1917) a popular
summer resort. Water color from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for
"Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.



305

1911— OLD MOHAWK CHURCH, BRANTFORD, U.C.— Water color
from original drawing by L. R. O'Brien, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880.
Size 5x6.

1912— KILLARNEY, ONT., AUGUST, 1880— A fishing village on the
north shore of Georgian Bay, and during the summer months a port of call
for steamers. ' The houses, of the hamlet cluster on the edge of a plain
extending to the base of the mountains. To the west of Killarney are the
wooded bluffs of Manitoulin Island, and on the east and north the Lauren-
tian Hills. Water color from original drawing by L. R. O'Brien, for "Pic-
turesque Canada." Size 3x6.

1913— CHATEAU DE RAMEZAY, 1705-1917— Notre Dame street, Mont-
real — Claude de Ramezay, eleventh Governor of Montreal, occupied this
unembellished structure from its erection to the time of his death in 1724.
During his regime it was the centre of gaiety, entertainment and hospital-
ity. Its doors were open to all classes. In 1745 the chateau was sold to
the Compagnie des Indes, which company made it the headquarters of the
fur trade in Canada, and so it remained until the Conquest. It was then
bought by William Grant, who in 1778 sold it to the English Government.
Thus the building again became the residence of the Governors. Lord
Metcalfe was the last resident Governor. Since that time Chateau de
Ramezay served several purposes until 1894, when it was purchased by the
Corporation of the City of Montreal, and in 1895 acquired by the Numis-
matic and Antiquarian Society as an Historical Portrait Gallery and Museum.
In 1775 the chateau was the headquarters of the American army. Here
Franklin set up his printing press and printed "The Gazette," and in the
council room of this venerable edifice Lord Elgin signed the Rebellion
Losses Bill after the Rebellion of 1837. Water color. Size 5x6.

1914 — THUNDER CAPE — At entrance to Thunder Bay, Lake Superior
— It is a basaltic cliff, the extremity of a long, rocky peninsula, one of the
grandest sights on the continent in its towering height of over 1,300 feet.
From the north-west the cape resembles a couchant lion, and from the
north or south looks like a sleeping giant, of whom many legends are told.
He is said to be Ninnabijou, an Ojibway Hercules, who performed many
feats of prowess. It is not related, though, how he came to make Thunder
Cape his last resting place. Near by is Silver Islet, at one time a not^<l
mining settlement. Water color from original drawing by L. R. O'Brien,
for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1915— LINDSAY, ONT., 1880— From the bank of the River Scugog look-
ing south-west — The view shows: 1. St. Joseph's Convent. 2. St. Mary's
R.C. Church. 3. Kent street east. 4. Bible Christian Church, now (1917)
Baptist Church. 5. Residence of James Growden. 6. Port Hope, Lindsay
and Beaverton train (G.T.R.) The town site of Lindsay was surveyed as
early as 1833, but because of bad roads and the distance from the seaboard,
the early progress of the now flourishing town was slow. Water color from
original drawing by W. C. Fitler, for "Picturesque Canada. Size 5x7.

1916— PETE RBORO', ONT.— From Kirkpatrick residence, now (1917)
owned by R. A. Morrow, looking east: 1. St. Peter's (R.C.) Cathedral.
2. Central Public School. 3. County Buildings, Court House and Jail. 4.
St. John's (Anglican) Church. 5. Town Hall (larger than in reality). 6.
South Ward Central School. 7. Group of dwellings at crossing of Sher-
brooke and Park streets. 8. Dwellings on Charlotte street. Water color
from original drawing by W. C. Fitler. for "Picturesque Canada," 1880.
Size 5x6.

1917— NOTRE DAME DES VICTOIRES, QUEBEC, 1688-1917— The
Little Lower Town Chapel, as it is often called, was erected under the



306

auspices of Bishop St. Vallier, the funds being provided by the Lower Town
ladies. Its erection, however, had been projected by Bishop Laval. The
modest little structure at first bore the name L'enfant Jesus, but on the
repulse of Phipps' attack on Quebec in 1690, was called Notre Dame de
Victoire. In 1711, when Walker's invading fleet was wrecked in the Gulf
of St. Lawrence, the name became Notre Dame des Victoires. During
Wolfe's siege of Quebec the church was partially destroyed, rebuilt subse-
quently, and in 1888 the interior neatly frescoed. To-day it stands as an
interesting historic relic of the troublous past. The square in front of the
church was used as the market place of Quebec during French regime, and
around it were the residences of the principal merchants of the town.
Water color from original drawing by W. T. Smedley, for "Picturesque
Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1918— GARDENS OF THE URSULINE CONVENT, QUEBEC— On 1st
July, 1639, Madame de la Peltrie arrived in Quebec. Here she founded the
Ursuline Convent. The first building was erected in 1641, destroyed by
fire in 1650, again rebuilt, only to meet a similar fate later. Various build-
ings occupy the spacious grounds of the convent, which is situated in the
heart of Quebec, and which, as an educational institution is well known.
In the chapel of the convent Montcalm was buried, 14th Sept., 1759, his
tomb most appropriately having been formed by the explosion of a shell.
Many beautiful oil paintings and some fine carvings in ivory are to be
found in the little chapel. Water color from original drawing by F. B.
Schell, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 4x7.

1919— AT THE GATE OF LAVAL UNIVERSITY, QUEBEC— The
original seminary was founded in 1663 by Mgr. de Montmorency Laval,
first Bishop of Quebec, and in 1852 a university was attached by Royal
Charter. Viewed from the river, Laval is one of the most prominent build-
ings in Quebec, and from its roof promenade one obtains a magnificent
view of the valley of the St. Charles and down the St. Lawrence. Water
color from original drawing by W. T. Smedley, for "Picturesque Canada,"
1880. Size 5x7. See 2971.

1920— SOUS LE CAP STREET, QUEBEC— Ruelles de Chien (Dog
Lane) — It is so narrow that at certain angles two carts going in opposite
directions would be blocked. Prior to 1816 there was no other outlet in this
direction at high water mark to reach St. Roch. In early times doubtless
a watchman stood at either extremity of the street to give notice of any
obstruction and so prevent collisions. To-day the locality is an interesting
one to tourists, and apparently always has been, for Dickens, in his Ameri-
can notes, describes some of the characters who frequented Dog Lane in
1842. Water color from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for "Picturesque
Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1921— LOOKING ACROSS THE ESPLANADE, QUEBEC, TO BEAU-
PORT — The Esplanade, at the foot of the green slope crowned by the forti-
fications of Quebec, was, until their withdrawal in 1871, a parade ground
for the Imperial troops. A few dismounted cannon are, however, the only
reminders of military glories of other days. 1. Part of promenade on sum-
mit of fortification wall, Quebec. 2. Laurentian Mountains in rear of
Beauport. 3. Beauport Parish Church, of which Father Chiniquy was for
many years parish priest. 4. Loyola Hall, property of the Jesuit Fathers,
formerly the National School Hall. 5. Church of the Congregation of Men
of Upper Town (served by Jesuit Fathers), built 1817. 6. Part of Quebec
Harbor— the bay outside the mouth of the St. Charles River. Water color
from original drawing by Lucius R. O'Brien, for "Picturesque Canada,"
1880. Size 6x8.



307

1922— STREET IN CHATEAU R I C H E R— Montmorency Co., Que., 1880
— Nestling in the midst of orchards lies the village of Chateau Richer,
fifteen miles below Quebec. An abundance of partridge, wild duck, snipe
and trout make the vicinity a sportsman's paradise, while the lover of
romantic scenery may revel in the Falls of La Puce, not far distant. There
is a charm about the old French houses, with their high-pitched roofs, de-
picted by the artist, which is lacking in the more pretentious modern
village house. Long, one-storey cottages, of wood or stone, are those of
an older day, each with its gay little garden lot — for the habitant loves
flowers. Water color from original drawing by Lucius Richard O'Brien, for
"Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7.

1923— FALLS OF STE. ANNE— On the Grande Riviere Ste. Anne-
Two miles above the village of Ste. Anne de Beaupre is a rocky vale —
almost a natural grotto — through the centre of which the river rushes,
escaping by a narrow channel between the rocks and forming a series of
falls, one of which is 130 feet in height. Viewed from below the cataract
the scene is one of inspiring grandeur. Water color by F. B. Schell, for
"Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1924— TOM MOORE'S HOUSE AT STE ANNE— Where the Ottawa
River empties into the St. Lawrence, near Montreal, stands the picturesque
old French house in which Tom Moore, the Irish minstrel, resided in 1805.
It was here that he wrote the "Canadian Boat Song," known to all Cana-
dians. Before the advent of the more prosaic railway and steamboat the
batteau was a familiar sight on the mighty Ottawa, guided by skilful oars-
men to the lilt of their French chansons, and the strains of "A La Claire
Fontaine" and other old-time favorites must often have been wafted to the
ears of the poet. Water color. Size 5x6.

1925— FALLS OF LORETTE, QUEBEC, 1880— At the quaint old village
of Indian, or Jeune Lorette, nine miles from Quebec, are the foaming
waters of these falls, tumbling through a rocky gorge. Their height is
about a hundred feet, and although differing greatly from Montmorency
Falls, are quite as striking in their way. Water color from original draw-
ing by L. R. O'Brien, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 4x6.

1926— CHURCH OF NOTRE DAME DE BONSECOURS— St. Paul St.,
Montreal — In 1657 a wooden chapel on a stone foundation was erected by
order of Sister Marguerite Bourgeois, foundress of the Nunnery of the Con-
gregation. The site of the chapel was upon land owned by Maisonneuve, a
short distance from the town. In 1675 a second building, the first church
of stone in the Island of Montreal, was erected, destroyed by fire, 1754,
and the present church constructed on its foundation, 1771. The name
"Bonsecours" (good help) was given on account of the escapes of the
colony from the Iroquois. Although the quaint old church has been shorn
of much of its beauty and uniqueness through alterations, it still retains
the inward sloping walls, the altars and some paintings. A small statue
was brought to Montreal from France by Marguerite Bourgeois in 1671, and
remained in the church for many years, the patron of French sailors for
over two centuries. It was reputed to be endowed with miraculous virtue.
The statue of the Virgin Mary on the rear peak of the roof is quite a
modern one. Water color from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for "Pic-
turesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7.

1927— CHAMP DE MARS, MONTREAL— The first parade ground of
the French troops was on the Place Royale, or Custom House Square. This
became too small and trouble arose also between the soldiers and farmers
who used the "Place" as a market. The Place d'Armes was then used by



308

the military and continued as a parade ground until the fortifications were
removed, when the present (1917) Champ de Mars was formed. Water color
from original by F. B. Schell, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x6.

1928— PART OF McGILL STREET, MONTREAL, 1880— The picture
shows: 1. Victoria Square, so named in 1860, formerly known as the Hay
Market. 2. Statue of Queen Victoria. 3. Y.M.C.A. Building— the first
erected by the association in Montreal; all the upper storeys have been
removed, the ground floor only now (1917) remaining. 4, St. Andrew's
Church, Beaver Hall Hill, erected 1851. 5. Unitarian Church, built 1845
(Church of the Messiah); the tower has since been removed and the
building is now used for commercial purposes. 6. Mount Royal. 7. Corner
McGill and Notre Dame streets. 8, Albert Buildings. Water color from
original drawing by W. T. Smedley, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7.

1929— ST. FOYE MONUMENT, QUEBEC— The discovery of numerous
bones near St. Foye Road, Quebec, suggested to the St. Jean Baptiste Society
the idea of raising a column to the memory of De Levis and Murray, and
to that of the brave soldiers who fought under them, 1760. The first stone
was laid, 18th July, 1855, Sir Edmund Walker Head, Governor-General of
Canada, presiding at the ceremony. On 19th Oct., 1862, the monument
was inaugurated by Lord Monck, then Governor-General. It is of cast iron
on a stone base, and is surmounted by a statue of Bellona, the Goddess of
War, carrying the mythological lance and shield, and facing that part of
the battlefield occupied by the French. The statue was given by Prince
Napoleon, who visited Quebec in 1863. On the right side "Murray" is read
above the arms and emblems of England, and on the left, "Levis" is in-
scribed above the arms and emblems of old France. The height of the
monument, which was designed by M. Chas. Baillairge, engineer, of Quebec,
is 75 feet, including the statue. Photograph, colored. Size 4 x 8.

1930— MANOR HOUSE AT SILLERY, QUE.— Home of Jesuit Mission-
aries — In 1632 Commandeur Noel Brulart de Sillery sold his property in
Paris, and entered Holy Orders, 1634. He gave to Father Lalement, a
zealous Jesuit, a large sum of money, with which the Mission of Sillery
was founded in 1637, and named in honor of its founder. Prior to 1700
the "Manor House," as it is called, was built, facing the St. Lawrence at
Sillery Cove, massive and heavy in construction, with walls three feet
thick, pointed gable and steep roof. Alterations have been made in the
old structure, which has stood the ravages of time, and to-day (1917) is
used as a boarding house. It is said that the hospital and monastery of
the mission were standing as late as 1825. Water color. Size 5x6.

1931— MARTELLO TOWER AT QUEBEC— Example of outer line of
fortification — The Martello towers at Quebec were erected in 1812 as out-
posts of the scheme of fortifications on the western or land side of Quebec.
Originally there were four, stretching across the upper level, formerly
known as the Heights of Abraham, between the valleys of the St. Lawrence
and the St. Charles. Their construction was weak towards the city, so
as to be easily destroyed in event of capture, and strong on the outer
sides, with mounted cannon. There are now (1917) three of these tower
structures in existence: (1) Overlooking the St. Lawrence, close to the
Ross Rifle Factory. (2) Near the Grande Allee, and (4) Overlooking St.
Rochs and the valley of the St. Charles. The tower known as No. 3, on
the western side of the Jeffrey Hale Hospital, was demolished some years
ago by the hospital authorities. Water color. Size 4x7.

1932— "BREAK-NECK STEPS"— Leading from Mountain Hill to Little
Champlain street — For long the quaint, narrow wooden stairway was a
noted landmark, but modern local traffic has necessitated its being replaced



309

by a broad, iron stairway. At the foot is an electric elevator which takes
the visitor over the face of the cliff, on to Dufferin Terrace. Water color.
Size 5x7.

1933— LITTLE CHAM PLAIN ST., QUEBEC— From head of Break-neck
Stairs — This single narrow street, named after Samuel de Champlain, founder
of Quebec, skirts the foot of Cape Diamond. Through the pass, on 31st
Dec, 1775, Montgomery tried to lead an attack upon Quebec, which, how-
ever, failed utterly. Water color from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for
"Picturesque Canada," 1880. Size 5x7. See 2835.

1934— MANOR HOUSE OF LACOLLE, SEIGNEURY DE BEAUJEAU,
QUE. — Situated on the New York State border-line, about four miles south-
west of Lacolle village, Que. The manor house is large, constructed of
wood, and has an extensive stone gable wing. The main part of the
house was built by Mrs. Henry Hoyle, formerly Mrs. Major Schuyler, of
Troy, N.Y. In 1816, Henry Hoyle married Mrs. Schuyler for her fortune.
They moved to Lacolle, where he used a part of the fortune of which he
had obtained control, in making the property a prize stock farm, probably
the first of the kind in Canada. At various points water powers were
bought and developed, and mills erected, including those at Lacolle,
Huntington and Athelstan. Mr. Hoyle died in 1849, and his widow in 1851.
The old manor house was a treasure store of relics of the sixteenth and
seventeenth centuries, as well as of the early Victorian age and modern
days. Mrs. Mary Averill Hoyle, co-Seigneuresse, died at Lacolle in 1914.
Water color. Size 4x6.

1935— CHIEN D'OR (GOLDEN DOG), QUEBEC— When the post office,



Online LibraryToronto Public LibrariesLandmarks of Canada. What art has done for Canadian history; a guide to the J. Ross Robertson historical collection in the Public reference library, Toronto, Canada. This catalogue of the → online text (page 51 of 89)